Donate Now!

Rural Stream

Rural Site Director: Dr. Meghan Olson
Assistant Site Director: Dr. Christopher Meilleur
Assistant Site Director: Dr. Michael Mason

Residents in the Rural Stream have greater opportunities to be placed with Family Medicine preceptors who provide the full scope of practice, including emergency care, obstetrics, and inpatient care. Our rural sites utilize the Triple C competency-based curriculum, and the curriculum design varies based on the community resources and learners, though most are longitudinal.

This longitudinal approach means Residents are based in family medicine practices, which allows for continuous exposure to all aspects of the life cycle and the care required in each of the domains. The rural learning experiences are rich and provide the resident with the opportunity to develop competencies in all aspects of care under the tutelage of their family physician preceptors, with the support of their collaborative specialty colleagues. Residents are afforded the opportunity to expand their experiences with horizontal, or block electives in their home-base community as well as other communities.

Competencies and progression are monitored by the site directors, as well as the local competency coach and the curriculum is adjusted to meet the individual learner’s needs. Our rural communities offer a wealth of opportunities in all aspects of the health care delivery spectrum, unparalleled in other environments.

Rural Stream Home-Base Communities

      • Blind River
      • Bracebridge
      • Dryden
      • Elliot Lake
      • Fort Frances
      • Gravenhurst
      • Hearst
      • Huntsville
      • Kapuskasing
      • Kenora
      • Manitoulin Island
      • Parry Sound
      • Sioux Lookout
      • Temiskaming Shores
      • Sturgeon Falls