Give Feedback!


Division Head, Clinical Sciences

Dr. Harshad Telang
Tel: 807-766-7416
Fax: 705-662-7265

Dr. Harshad Telang graduated from the University of Ottawa’s School of Medicine, after which he went on to complete his residency in Thunder Bay through McMaster University. Dr. Telang was appointed Regional Director /Coordinator of McMaster University’s General Surgery Program in 2001, and has held the post since that time. From 2010 to 2012, Telang was the Program Director with NOSM”s General Surgery Residency Program. Dr. Telang currently holds the rank of Associate Professor at NOSM, as well as Assistant Clinical Professor of Surgery at McMaster University.

Section Chair, Anesthesia

Dr. Brent Kennedy

An MD graduate from UBC, Kennedy completed a rotating internship and one year of residency at Dalhousie, and then completed residency training at the University of Western Ontario in 1998. After spending a couple of years on staff in London, Kennedy relocated to Sudbury in 2000. Since moving to Sudbury, Kennedy has worked to establish an Acute Pain Management Service at Health Sciences North, and has previously served as department chief. Kennedy’s ongoing interests include teaching residents and the treatment of acute postoperative pain.

Section Chair, Child & Adolescent Health

Dr. Sean Murray

Born and raised in Sudbury, Murray returned to the North 12 years ago to pursue his career in Pediatrics. A University of Toronto grad, Murray also trained at Toronto’s Sick Children’s Hospital for Pediatrics. Since his arrival in Sudbury, Murray has been a very active leader at Health Sciences North, and has most recently become the Chair of Pediatrics at NOSM. In his new role, Murray hopes to forge common goal building across the many practitioners of Pediatrics in the North, and encourage research collaboration.

Section Chair, Emergency Medicine

Dr. Gary Bota

Dr. Bota graduated in medicine from McMaster University. Following completion of his residency in emergency medicine at UCLA, he moved to Sudbury in 1983 where he served as ED director from 1983 until 2000. During his tenure, research, trauma, EM residency and air paramedic programs developed under the emergency banner. Early publications centred on injury patterns and trauma unique to the northern environment i.e. snowmobiles, sledding and hockey.

Dr. Bota started BEC Emergency Services Inc in 1999. BEC now provides best evidence content and software to emergency departments on 3 continents. Dr. Bota continues to work as an emergency physician in Sudbury, teach research to EM residents and serve as president of BEC.

Section Chair, Internal Medicine

Dr. Birubi Biman


Section Chair, Health Sciences

Ms. Sally Prystanski

Sally Prystanski has worked as a Physiotherapist in Thunder Bay for many years. A graduate of the University of Manitoba, she has worked in Acute and Chronic Care, Rehabilitation, Paediatrics and for the last 30 years has specialized in Rheumatology. A Professional Associate of McMaster University for The Northern Studies Stream (20 years) and an Assistant Professor for N.O.S.M for 6, she is keenly interested in Inter-Professional Education. She continues to work for The Arthritis Society in Thunder Bay.

Section Chair, Family Medicine

Dr. Barb Zelek & Dr. Anjali Oberai
Emails: |

Dr. Barb Zelek graduated from the University of Ottawa in 1998 and completed her Family Medicine residency at Queen’s University. Since 2002, she has worked in Marathon in an interprofessional rural family practice where her clinical work includes emergency medicine, office-based practice, obstetrics, and hospitalist medicine. She has enjoyed being involved with teaching learners throughout her career.

Dr. Anjali Oberai graduated from the University of Ottawa in 1993 and completed her Family Medicine residency at the University of Calgary.  Since 1998, she has worked in Wawa in an interprofessional rural family practice where her clinical work includes emergency medicine, obstetrics, hospitalist medicine, stress testing and office-based practice. Prior to 1998, Dr. Oberai was a locum physician in rural Albert, Ontario and Nunavut.

Section Chair, General Surgery

Position Vacant

Section Chair, Orthopedic Surgery

Dr. David Puskas

Dr. David Puskas graduated in 1991 with his honours Medical Degree from the University of Toronto. He completed his Orthopaedic specialty training at Uof T with concurrent fellowship training in adult trauma, acetabular reconstruction, lower limb arthroplasty and reconstructive surgery of the spine with particular emphasis on complex metastatic spinal disease. Dr. Puskas is currently an Associate Professor at NOSM. He established his practice in Orthopaedic Trauma/Reconstructive Surgeon and Spinal Reconstructive Surgeon in Thunder Bay in 1997. Dr. Puskas was the inaugural Postgraduate Program Director in Orthopedic Surgery and lead the section of Orthopaedics to full Accreditation in 2014.

Section Chair, Women’s Health

Dr. Karen Splinter

After receiving her engineering degree at Queen’s University, Dr. Splinter completed her medical degree at the University of Ottawa. She then ventured out east where she trained as an Obstetrician Gynecologist at the Memorial University of Newfoundland for five years. Having benefited from the former Northeastern Ontario Medical Education Corporation with a rotation in Sudbury as a medical student, Dr. Splinter was excited to accept a position at Health Sciences North in 2012. Splinter is completing a Masters in Clinical Epidemiology exploring pregnancy outcomes and Mullerian anomalies. Through her position at NOSM she hopes to continue to pursue research in Women’s Health and expand knowledge about the health care needs of the women of Northern Ontario. Her other professional interests include minimally invasive gynecology and expanding access to advanced laparoscopy in the Greater Sudbury area.

Section Chair, Radiology

Dr. Anatoly Shuster

Dr. Anatoly Shuster received his MD from Russian State Medical University and completed his Radiology Residency in Jerusalem, Israel at Hadassah Medical Centre. Dr. Shuster completed a Fellowship in Vascular Interventional Radiology at Mount Sinai Hospital and University of Toronto prior to joining Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre in 2012.

Section Chair, Psychiatry

Dr. Jack Haggarty

Dr. John (Jack) Haggarty graduated from the McMaster Medical School, completed his residency at the University of Ottawa in Family Medicine, and completed his residency in Psychiatry at the University of Western Ontario. He now practises in Thunder Bay, Ontario and is Senior Medical Director (Chief) of Psychiatry, St. Joseph’s Care Group, Consulting Psychiatrist of Shared Mental Health Services Fort William Clinic, Anishinabe Muskiki, and Norwest Clinic, serving over 30 family physicians and nurse practitioners and 40,000 patients.

Recent initiatives include implementing eConsultation and other low-intensity specialty services to rural and remote communities. In his roles as Professor, Interim Chair, and Research Coordinator at the Northern Ontario Medical School (NOSM) for Psychiatry,  and Adjunct Professor at both Lakehead University and the University of Toronto, he has presented internationally on collaborative mental health, health outcomes, as well as publishing scientific papers on trans-cultural epidemiological research of Canada’s Inuit and First Nations people. He is actively engaged with delivering mental health services to First Nations people and with Partners in Health/Zanmi Lasante in Haiti. He is a fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of Canada, a Diplomat of the Board of Neurology and Psychiatry, and a Certified Physician Executive.