Board room

Direction et gouvernance


A medical school for the whole of Northern Ontario, the Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) is a joint initiative of Lakehead University in Thunder Bay and Laurentian University in Sudbury.  NOSM is Canada’s only medical school of two universities, and as such, has a novel composition.

NOSM is committed to corporate, social and academic accountability, and this is reflected in the School’s organizational structure. The School is registered as a not-for-profit corporation and maintains an independent budget, administration, and Board of Directors, while academic affairs are deeply connected with both host universities.

The Senates of the two universities provide academic authority to NOSM. A Joint Senate Committee for the School has been established to receive academic proposals from the NOSM Academic Council. The NOSM Academic Council provides the framework to ensure the involvement of the school’s faculty members in all aspects of academic governance and makes recommendations on academic policy matters to the Senates of the two host universities via the Joint Senate Committee. The Joint Senate Committee is a standing committee of both Lakehead University and Laurentian University Senates.

The Board consists of 19 Directors (three Ex-Officio and 16 Directors) who reflect the geographic, cultural, and linguistic diversity of Northern Ontario. Dr. Fred Gilbert, President of Lakehead University, was the inaugural Chair of the Board and Dr. Judith Woodsworth, President of Laurentian University, was the inaugural Vice Chair.

The Board of Directors is responsible for the corporate governance, fiscal management, and appointment and evaluation of the Dean and Chief Executive Officer. The Dean is the CEO of the School’s not-for-profit corporation, and as such has two distinct roles and reporting responsibilities.

The Dean, as an Academic Dean, is accountable for NOSM academic activities through the NOSM Academic Council and the Joint Senate Committee for NOSM to the two University Senates. The Dean, as CEO of the NOSM Corporation, is accountable to the Board of Directors for the organization and management of the School.

Management of the organization is the responsibility of the School’s Executive Group. The Executive Group includes Associate Deans, who are responsible for academic programs including Research, Undergraduate Medical Education, Postgraduate Medical Education, Faculty Affairs, Community Engagement and the Chief Administrative Officer. The Dean is accountable to the Board and is responsible for all aspects of the School’s direction except for those assigned to the Board itself.