Remote Work
Toolkit

Contact Us

MD Program Admissions and Learner Recruitment Office

MSW 2003 955 Oliver Rd.
Lakehead University
Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 5E1
Toll Free 1-800-461-8777
Fax: 807-766-7368
Email: admissions@nosm.ca

Learner Affairs

For general inquries, please contact us at learneraffairs@nosm.ca.

Dr. Jason Shack
Assistant Dean, Learner Affairs
Tel: 807-766-7465
Email: jshack@nosm.ca

Laura Csontos
Senior Learner Affairs Officer
Tel: 705-662-7248
Fax: 705-662-6917
Email: laura.csontos@nosm.ca

Sherry Mongeau
Learner Affairs Officer
Tel: 705-662-7257
Fax: 705-662-6917
Email: smongeau@nosm.ca

Nicholas Alderton
Senior Learner Affairs Officer
Tel: 807-766-7315
Fax: 807-766-7368
Email: nalderton@nosm.ca

Terry Oja
Financial Aid Officer
Tel: 807-766-7474
Fax: 807-766-7368
Email: toja@nosm.ca

Tracy Laird
Administrative Assistant
Tel: 807-766-7366
Fax: 807-766-7368
Email: tracy.laird@nosm.ca

MD Program / Undergraduate Medical Education (UME) Program

For general inquiries, please contact ume@nosm.ca

Office of UME Organizational Chart

John Friesen
Senior Director, UME Administration
807-766-7365
jfriesen@nosm.ca

Shanna Leclair
Student Records and Electives Officer (NOSM UME Students only)
Tel: 705-662-7287
Fax: 807-766-7485
Email: records@nosm.ca

Assessment and Program Evaluation

Dr. Elaine Hogard
Director, Assessment and Program Evaluation
807-766-7477
ehogard@nosm.ca

Program Delivery

Sherrie Ann Camilli
UME Administrative Manager, Program Delivery
705-662-7254
scamilli@nosm.ca

Curriculum and Learning Environment

Jeff Bachiu
UME Administrative Director
Curriculum and Planning
705-662-7114
jbachiu@nosm.ca

Educational Resources

Tamara Boyd
UME Administrative Manager
Educational Resources
705-662-7221
tboyd@nosm.ca

Office of the Associate Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education

A Message from the Associate Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education

I would like to take this opportunity to welcome you to the Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM). NOSM is a medical school like no other in that our campus is the whole of Northern Ontario. We hope that you will take every opportunity to get to know our people, our geography, and our culture as you spend time in our region learning about medicine, social accountability and so much more!

You are about to embark on a journey that will give you the skills and knowledge to practice medicine – with all its rewards and challenges. Phase 1 (Years 1 and 2) will be spent learning medical basics in small and large group settings at one of our campuses – Lakehead and Laurentian Universities. During those first two years, you will also learn clinical skills from experienced faculty members and spend time immersed in clinical placements in some of our more rural and remote communities.

Phase 2 (Year 3) is an eight-month Comprehensive Community Clerkship experience based in smaller communities across Northern Ontario. This will allow you to engage in a wide range of clinical activities assessing patients with various presentations in a community setting. Phase 3 (Year 4) takes place in the larger Health Science Centers of Sudbury and Thunder Bay, where you will get the chance to rotate through a series of clerkship rotations including Surgery, Internal Medicine, Emergency Medicine, Children’s Health, Women’s Health and Mental Health as you prepare for the residency match and licensing exam.

You will be surprised how much you will learn and how fast your time with us will fly by! Enjoy every step of the way and take advantage of the various opportunities that we have to offer here at NOSM.

Dr. Lee Toner
Associate Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education
Assistant Director, Phase 3 (Acting)

Contact for Dr. Toner:
Amanda Mihalus
Executive Assistant to the Associate Dean of Undergraduate Medical Education
807-766-7423
amihalus@nosm.ca
adume@nosm.ca