Donate Now!

Contact Us

MD Program Admissions and Learner Recruitment Office

MSW 2003 955 Oliver Rd.
Lakehead University
Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 5E1
Toll Free 1-800-461-8777
Fax: 807-766-7368
Email: admissions@nosm.ca

Learner Affairs

For general inquries, please contact us at learneraffairs@nosm.ca.

Dr. Jason Shack
Assistant Dean, Learner Affairs
Tel: 807-766-7465
Email: jshack@nosm.ca

Kathleen Beatty
Director of Learner Affairs and Equity
Tel: 705-662-7205
Fax: 705-675-4858
Email: kathleen.beatty@nosm.ca

Laura Csontos
Senior Learner Affairs Officer
Tel: 705-662-7248
Fax: 705-662-6917
Email: laura.csontos@nosm.ca

Sherry Mongeau
Learner Affairs Officer
Tel: 705-662-7257
Fax: 705-662-6917
Email: smongeau@nosm.ca

Nicholas Alderton
Senior Learner Affairs Officer
Tel: 807-766-7315
Fax: 807-766-7368
Email: nalderton@nosm.ca

Terry Oja
Financial Aid Officer
Tel: 807-766-7474
Fax: 807-766-7368
Email: toja@nosm.ca

Tracy Laird
Administrative Assistant
Tel: 807-766-7366
Fax: 807-766-7368
Email: tracy.laird@nosm.ca

MD Program / Undergraduate Medical Education (UME) Program

For general inquiries, please contact ume@nosm.ca

Office of UME Organizational Chart

John Friesen
Interim Senior Director, UME Administration
807-766-7365
jfriesen@nosm.ca

Shanna Leclair
Student Records and Electives Officer (NOSM UME Students only)
Tel: 705-662-7287
Fax: 807-766-7485
Email: records@nosm.ca

Assessment and Program Evaluation
Dr. Elaine Hogard
Director, Assessment and Program Evaluation
807-766-7477
ehogard@nosm.ca

Sherrie Ann Camilli
UME Administrative Manager
Assessment and Program Evaluation
705-662-7254
scamilli@nosm.ca

Curriculum and Planning
Jeff Bachiu
UME Administrative Manager
Curriculum and Planning
705-662-7114
jbachiu@nosm.ca

Educational Resources
Tamara Boyd
UME Administrative Manager
Educational Resources
705-662-7221
tboyd@nosm.ca

Office of the Associate Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education

A Message from the Associate Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education

First of all, I would like to extend a warm Northern welcome to NOSM students, and congratulations on the achievement of being accepted to the program!  You are about to embark on a challenging and wonderful adventure in learning medicine in the context of Northern Ontario.

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine has been training doctors through an innovative program since 2004 and each year the students who are accepted bring something new to add.  The program will challenge you by taking an integrated approach of two years in classroom-based learning, combined with two years of clerkship training in community-based placements around Northern Ontario.

The training in the first two years will be interspersed with placement experiences that progressively prepare you for the experience of immersion in clinical placements in communities.  From weekly half-day placements in Sudbury and Thunder Bay to three 4-week placements in communities, the hands on opportunities to apply learning are essential to the student-centered approach at NOSM.

Once into clerkship in the last two years, NOSM offers an incredibly low preceptor/student ratio that allows learning to follow an individualized pace based on student needs.  All of this is focused on the vision of improving the health of the North – so a deeper understanding of the health needs is gained through these unique community-engaged learning experiences.

All of this is what makes studying medicine at NOSM a truly unique and innovative experience.  I wish you all the best as you start on this journey.  You will be supported by a fantastic team of faculty and staff at every step along the way.

Dr. Brian Ross 
Interim Associate Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education

Contact for Dr. Ross:
Lianne Baron
Executive Assistant to the Associate Dean of Undergraduate Medical Education
807-766-7423
lbaron@nosm.ca