Donate Now!

Territory Acknowledgement

ᐁᑲᐧ ᑭᐁᐧᑎᓄᐠ ᐊᐣᑌᕑᐃᔪ ᒪᐡᑭᑭᐃᐧ ᐃᐡᑯᓄᐃᐧᐣ ᑭᒋᓇᓇᑯᒥ ᑕᐱᐡᑯᐨ ᐅᐅᐁᐧ ᒥᓯᐁᐧ
ᐃᐡᑯᓄᐃᐧᐣ ᑲᐃᔑᑕᑲᐧᐠ ᐅᐅᒪ ᑭᐁᐧᑎᓄᐠ ᐊᐣᑌᕑᐃᔪ ᐊᐦᐃᐠ ᐅᔕ ᒪᔭᑦ ᑲᐃᔑᑕᑲᐧᐠ
ᐊᓂᔑᓇᐯᐠ ᒥᓇ ᐊᐱᑕᐃᐧᐅᑯᔑᔕᓇᐠ ᐅᑕᑭᒧᐊᐧᐠ᙮ ᐁᑲᐧ ᒥᓇ ᐅᐅᐁᐧ ᐃᐡᑯᓄᐃᐧᐣ
ᐅᒋᓇᓇᑯᒥᓇᓂᐊᐧᐣ ᐅᒋ ᑕᐱᐡᑯᐨ ᐅᐅᐁᐧ ᒪᐡᑭᑭᐃᐧ ᐃᐡᑯᓄᐃᐧᐣ ᐊᐧᑲᐦᐃᑲᐣ ᑲᐊᔭᐠ
ᐅᐅᒪ ᕑᐊᐁᐧᐣᔑᐣ ᑭᒋᐃᐡᑯᓄᐃᐧᑲᒥᑯᐠ ᐁᐦᐊᐠ ᐅᔕ ᑲᐃᔑᐊᑌᐠ ᐊᐧᐱᐣᓴᐣ-ᕑᐃᐊᐧᐣ ᑐᕑᐃᑎ
ᐊᐦᑭᑲᐠ ᐁᑲᐧ ᒥᓇ ᐃᐃᒪ ᑲᐃᔑᒪᐊᐧᑐᓂᑫᔭᐠ ᐃᐃᒪ ᓴᐟᐯᕑᐃ ᑭᒋᑕᐃᐧᓂᐠ ᐁᐦᐊᐠ ᐅᔕ
ᐅᑕᑭᒧᐊᐧᐠ ᐊᑎᑲᒥᐠᔐᐣᐠ ᐊᓂᔑᓇᐯᐠ ᐁᑲᐧ ᐊᐱᑕᐃᐧᐅᑯᔑᔕᓇᐠ᙮ ᒪᐡᑭᑭᐃᐧ ᐃᐡᑯᓄᐃᐧᐣ
ᐊᐧᑲᐦᐃᑲᐣ ᑲᐃᔑᑕᑲᐧᐠ ᐃᐃᒪ ᕑᐁᐠᐦᐁᐟ ᑭᒋᐃᐡᑯᓄᐃᐧᑲᒥᑯᐠ ᐊᐦᐃᐠ ᐅᔕ ᑲᐃᔑᐊᑌᐠ
ᐊᐧᐱᐣᓴᐣ-ᕑᐃᐊᐧᐣ ᑐᕑᐃᑎ ᐊᐦᑭᑲᐠ ᐁᑲᐧ ᒥᓇ ᐃᐃᒪ ᑲᐃᔑᒪᐊᐧᑐᓂᑫᔭᐠ ᐃᐃᒪ ᑕᐣᑕᐯ
ᑭᒋᑕᐃᐧᓂᐠ ᐁᐦᐊᐠ ᐅᔕ ᐅᑕᑭᒧᐊᐧᐠ ᐊᓂᔑᓇᐯᐠ ᐁᑲᐧ ᐊᐱᑕᐃᐧᐅᑯᔑᔕᓇᐠ᙮

In the spirit of Truth and Reconciliation, NOSM University respectfully acknowledges that our pan-Northern campus is on the homelands of First Nations and Métis Peoples. The university buildings we occupy in Greater Sudbury and Thunder Bay are located on the territory of the Anishinabek Nation, specifically Atikameksheng and Wahnapitae First Nations and Fort William First Nation.

Beyond a land acknowledgement, we understand that reconciliation is a practice. We gratefully acknowledge the Elders and Knowledge Keepers who share their gifts and teachings with us so that we may better understand and honour their wisdom, and that of all of the traditional keepers of this land. NOSM University will continue to practice reconciliation by listening, learning, and fostering a culture of mutual respect and trust.

Nishnawbe Aski Nation (NAN) represents 49 First Nation communities from Treaty 9 and 5 over an area of 210,000 square miles, with a total population of about 45,000 Ojibway, Cree and Ojicree. Nishnawbe Aski Nation has a main office in Thunder Bay and a branch office in Timmins.

The Anishinabek Nation represents 42 First Nation communities from Robinson Huron, Robinson Superior, Manitoulin Island Treaty and other areas in Southern Ontario over an area of 52,400 square miles, with a total population of about 42,000 Odawa, Ojibway, Pottawatomi, Delaware, Chippewa, Algonquin and Mississauga. The Anishinabek Nation has a main office in Nipissing First Nation, and branch offices in Fort William First Nation, Curve Lake First Nation and Munsee-Delaware Nation.

Grand Council Treaty #3 represents 26 First Nation communities in Ontario and two in Manitoba over an area of 55,000 square miles, with a total population of about 25,000 Anishinaabe (Ojibway). Grand Council Treaty #3 has a main office in Kenora.

The Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO), initially formed in 1994, represents about 49,000 members situated in nine regions and 32 communities across Ontario at the provincial and national levels within Canada and at the international level. The Métis are recognized in Canada’s Constitution Act, 1982, as an Indigenous people. The MNO has a main office in Ottawa and regional offices in Amhestburg, Brampton, Fort Frances, Penetanguishene, Thunder Bay, Timmins, Searchmont, and Sudbury.

Northern Ontario consists of six treaty areas:

  • Robinson-Huron, 1850, north of Lake Huron including Manitoulin Island;
  • Robinson-Superior, 1850, north of Lake Superior;
  • Manitoulin Island Treaty, 1862, Manitoulin Island excepting Wikwemikong Unceeded Indian Reserve #2;
  • Treaty 3, 1873, southern part of Northwestern Ontario;
  • Treaty 5, 1875, portion of area extends into western Ontario from Manitoba; and,
  • Treaty 9, northern two-thirds of Northern Ontario.

Visit the Government of Ontario website for maps of the First Nations and treaties.

Visit the NOSM Health Sciences Library to view the Treaty Recognition Resource Guide.