Remote Work


Congratulations to NOSM 2019 Family Medicine Award Recipients

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) extends congratulations to several of its alumni and residents who were honoured at the Family Medicine Forum 2019 recently held in Vancouver.   We are very proud that your dedication and ongoing contributions to rural family medicine are recognized on a national scale.            Dr. Crystal Boulianne of Kapuskasing received the Family Medicine Resident Award for the Study of Communities Impacted by Health Disparities.      Dr. Ryan Patchett-Marble of Marathon received The Northern, Rural, Remote Family Practice Marco Terwiel Award.      Dr. Tara B...

Read more.

Dr. Alexander Moise appointed to national research group

Dr. Alexander Moise has been appointed as a member of the Genes, Cells and Molecules Evaluations Group for the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) for a three-year term. He will contribute to the national peer review process that ensures the efficacy, health and vitality of Canada’s research community. “NSERC’s success in supporting university research in natural sciences and engineering depends on the voluntary participation of its members in the peer review process, which is highly regarded by the Canadian and international research communities. Its credibility is linked to the participation of ...

Learn more.

NOSM Board Holds First Meeting with New Dean, President and CEO

Using a combination of web- and teleconference connectivity across Northern Ontario, the Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) held its Annual Members and Board of Directors meetings on Wednesday, September 18, 2019. The Board welcomed the Chair, Dr. Robert Haché, President of Laurentian University and Dr. Sarita Verma, NOSM Dean, President and CEO for their first meeting of the NOSM Board. Honorary Members Claude Lacroix, Laurentian Board of Governor’s Chair and Ross Murray, Lakehead Board of Governor’s Chair were in attendance for the Annual Meeting of Members. In accordance with Board policy, Dr. Michel Bédard, Luc...

Read more.

NOSM names new Director of Public Health and Preventive Medicine Program

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) is pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. George Pasut as Program Director of Public Health and Preventive Medicine, effective June 2019 for the term of the 2019-2020 academic year. Dr. Pasut is an accomplished public health leader, having served most recently in executive leadership at Public Health Ontario (PHO) with responsibility for Science and Public Health and Research, Information and Knowledge programs. Having recently transitioned to semi-retirement, Dr. Pasut continues with PHO as the Medical Education Coordinator on a part-time basis. Dr. Pasut has extensive public h...

Read more.

NOSM Hosts Discussion with Federal Minister of Health

On Thursday, July 25, the Northern Ontario School of Medicine hosted a roundtable discussion with the Federal Minister of Health, Sudbury area Members of Parliament, NOSM faculty and medical students. Dr. Sarita Verma, NOSM Dean, President and CEO, welcomed The Honourable Ginette Petitpas Taylor, Federal Minister of Health, Mr. Paul Lefebvre, Member of Parliament for Sudbury and Mr. Marc Serré, Member of Parliament for Nickel Belt. The conversation opened with Dr. Alexandre Anawati (Emergency Medicine Physician at Health Sciences North and NOSM Alumnus and Assistant Professor) speaking passionately about NOSM’s Social Accountabilit...

Read more.

Dr. Sarita Verma starts as new Dean of NOSM

Today the Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) officially welcomes incoming Dean, President and CEO, Dr. Sarita Verma. July 1 marks the start date of Dr. Verma’s five-year term, succeeding Dr. Roger Strasser, Founding Dean and CEO of NOSM. As first female Dean of the School, and only the second Dean in NOSM’s history, Dr. Verma says her first priority is to engage with the more than 90 communities that make up NOSM’s wider campus of Northern Ontario. “My first order of business as Dean is to get to know the communities of the North; to learn what I can about them and their needs. It’s important to me that I hear fr...

Read more.

NOSM’s Medical Physics Residency Program Achieves Full Accreditation

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) is pleased to announce that the recently established Medical Physics Residency Education Program (MPREP) has, for the first time, received full accreditation from the Commission on Accreditation of Medical Physics Education Programs (CAMPEP) through to December 31, 2021. Medical physicists are health-care professionals with specialized training in the medical applications of physics. Their work involves the use of x-rays, ultrasound, magnetic and electric fields, infrared and ultraviolet light, heat and lasers in diagnosis and therapy. Most medical physicists work in cancer treatment ...

Read more.

NOSM Honours Exceptional Faculty

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) has recognized two exceptional faculty members at this year’s Doctor of Medicine (MD) convocation ceremonies at Lakehead University in Thunder Bay on May 31 and at Laurentian University in Sudbury on June 4, 2019. The NOSM Joint and Stipendiary Faculty (JSF) Promotions Committee recommended the title of Associate Professor Honorarius be bestowed upon Dr. Diarmuid (Dermot) McLoughlin of Sioux Lookout and the title of Professor Honorarius be bestowed upon Dr. Hermann Falter of Sudbury. On Friday, May 31 at Lakehead University in Thunder Bay, Mr. John McLoughlin accepted the award on be...

Read more.