Faire un don!

Quelle différence en une année!

Au début des années 1950, ma mère a quitté l'Inde pour s'installer à Cedar Rapids, dans l'Iowa, avec deux enfants. Puis que je suis née. Mes souvenirs de l'Iowa sont surtout ceux de l'hiver. Oui, c'est moi dans le manteau blanc; le bébé de la famille. Dans l'Iowa, les bancs de neige étaient souvent aussi hauts que des petits immeubles d'habitation. Ma mère est devenue une robuste habitante du Midwest et a accepté la férocerie de la nouvelle saison qu'elle n'avait jamais connue à New Delhi. Elle a su rendre notre intégration en Amérique très amusante. Elle a eu beaucoup de mal à se préparer pour son premier hiver dans...

Read more.

Une saison de changement et de don

Cette première chute de neige donne un aperçu d’un des aspects les lus importants des saisons : le changement. Et de grands changement se sont produits à l'Université de l'EMNO. Jeudi dernier fut une journée monumentale. Plus de 400 personnes se sont jointes à nous en personne et en ligne lorsque Mme Joy Warkentin, la nouvelle président du conseil d’administration, et moi avons présenté la toute première chancelière et le tout nouveau conseil de l'Université de l'EMNO. C’est un honneur d’avoir Cindy Blackstock, activiste autochtone réputée dans le domaine des droits des enfants et des familles et membre de la...

Read more.

Préparez-vous pour l’avenir. Il commence ici.

Aujourd’hui, c’est la Journée nationale de la philanthropie, une journée de célébration de vos généreuses contributions et de celles des autres bienfaiteurs, du corps professoral, de la population étudiante, du personnel et des bénévoles de l'Université de l'EMNO. « Philanthrōpos » est un mot grec qui signifie « amour du genre humain ». La philanthropie regroupe des gens et a le pouvoir d’unir des groupes, en inspirant des améliorations fondées sur la responsabilité sociale. À bien des égards, c’est l’aspiration de l'Université de l'EMNO pour l’avenir. Le soutien à l’Université et à ...

Read more.
1 3 4 5 6 7 30

Donate Now!

Northern Routes

What a difference a year makes

In the early 1950s, my mother moved from India to Cedar Rapids, Iowa with two kids in tow. Then I was born. My memories of Iowa are mostly winter ones. Yes, that’s me in the white coat; the baby of the family. Snowfall in Iowa often piled up as high as small apartment buildings. My mother became a hardy Midwesterner, embracing the wildness of the new season she had never encountered in New Delhi. She made it a lot of fun to be a newcomer to America. She was hard pressed to prepare for her first winter in Iowa and, later, in Ottawa. Because of this, she spent a good part of her later career setting up programs to help new immigrants ...

Read more.

A season of change and giving

As the fresh snow starts to fall, we get a glimpse of one of the important aspects of the season: change. And big changes have been taking place at NOSM University. Last Thursday was a monumental day. More than 400 individuals joined us in person and online as Ms. Joy Warkentin, incoming Chair, Board of Governors, and I introduced NOSM University’s inaugural Chancellor and Board. It is an honour to have Dr. Cindy Blackstock, renowned Indigenous child and family rights activist and member of the Gitxsan, serve as NOSM University’s inaugural Chancellor. Dr. Blackstock embodies the values of social justice, respect, and integri...

Read more.

Get ready for the future. It starts here.

Today is National Philanthropy Day. It’s a day dedicated to celebrating you and the many generous philanthropic contributions that have been made by NOSM University donors, faculty, learners, staff, and volunteers. ‘Philanthrōpos’ is a Greek word that means love of humankind. That love brings people together and has the power to unite groups, inspiring improvements based on social accountability. In many ways, this is NOSM University’s aspiration for the future. Support for us, and our learners, staff and faculty, has come in all forms, from the many people and communities who have embraced NOSM University learners, to...

Read more.
1 3 4 5 6 7 30