Remote Work
Toolkit

Master of Medical Studies Supervisors

Call for Supervisors open from
September 22 to October 29, 2021. Apply here.

The following are lists of Faculty Supervisors, Co-Supervisors and Committee Members for the Master of Medical Studies Program. Individuals will be asked to identify a potential Supervisor or Co-Supervisor and Supervisor in their application package. It is strongly encouraged that interested individuals contact Faculty Supervisors and Co-Supervisors whose research projects are aligned with their own. Faculty Supervisors, Co-Supervisors and Committee members can be part of thesis committees.

Supervisors
Co-Supervisors
Committee Members

Supervisors

Doug Boreham PhD
dboreham@nosm.ca
Radiation Biology
More Info

Erin Cameron PhD
ercameron@nosm.ca
Social Accountability, Rural Medical Education, Qualitative and Participatory Research Methods
More Info

Sandra Dorman PhD
sdorman@laurentian.ca
Health Promotion, Disease Prevention, Occupational Health and Safety, Physiology, Nutrition, Respirology
More Info

Joseph Eibl PhD
joe.eibl@nosm.ca
Microbiology, Immunology

Geoffrey Hudson DPhil
ghudson@nosm.ca
History of Medicine
More Info

Vicki Kristman, PhD
vkristman@lakeheadu.ca
Epidemiology, Work and Employment, Mental Health, Indigenous Health, Musculoskeletal and Brain Injury
More Info

Elizabeth Levin PhD, CPsych
elevin@nosm.ca
Clinical Child Psychology
More Info

David Maclean PhD
dmaclean@nosm.ca
Physiology
More Info

Darrel Manitowabi PhD
dmanitowabi@nosm.ca
History of Indigenous Health, Traditional Medicine, Social Determinants of Health, Medical Anthropology
More Info

David Marsh MD
dmarsh@nosm.ca
Addiction Medicine
More Info

Christopher Mushquash PhD
chris.mushquash@lakeheadu.ca
Indigenous Mental Health, Substance Use, Addiction
More Info

Brian Ross PhD, MEd
brian.ross@nosm.ca
Social Accountability, Community Placements, Place-Based Education Theory and Practice
More Info

Greg Ross PhD
greg.ross@nosm.ca
Physiology, Neuroscience
More Info

Mazen Saleh PhD
msaleh@laurentian.ca
Bacteria, Toxin, Tuberculosis, Pathogenesis, Protein Secretion
More Info

Paolo Sanzo DSc
psanzo@nosm.ca
Physiotherapy, Rehabilitation, Sports Medicine
More Info

David Savage MD PhD
dsavage@nosm.ca
Emergency Medicine
More Info

Alain Simard PhD
asimard@nosm.ca
Immunology, Neuroimmunology, Immune Regulation, Multiple Sclerosis, Inflammatory Disease, Flow Cytometry, Animal Models of Disease
More Info

Roger Strasser MBBS, BMedSc, MCISc
roger.strasser@nosm.ca
Social Accountability, Generalism, Rural Health, and Family Medicine
More Info

Zachary Suntres PhD
zsuntres@nosm.ca
Pharmacology/Toxicology
More Info

T.C. Tai PhD
tc.tai@nosm.ca
Physiology, Pharmacology
More Info

Mark Thibert MD
mark.thibert@nosm.ca
Plastic Surgery

Marina Ulanova PhD
marina.ulanova@nosm.ca
Immuno-Epidemiology of Bacterial Infections, Vaccinology, Host-Pathogen Interactions
More Info

Co-Supervisors

Michael Conlon MD
mconlon@hsnri.ca
Health Services, Epidemiology and Biostatistics, ICES
More Info

Naana Jumah  MD, PhD
njumah@nosm.ca
Women’s Health, OB/GYN

Jaroslav Kotalik MD
jkotalik@lakeheadu.ca

Robert Ohle MD
robert.ohle@nosm.ca
Emergency Medicine

Committee Members

Amer Alaref MD
aalaref@nosm.ca

Vishaal Bhambhwani MD
vbhambhwani@nosm.ca
Ophthalmology, Pediatric ophthalmology, Strabismus, Ocular motility disorders, Amblyopia, Cataract

James Crispo PhD
jcrispo@nosm.ca
Health services & outcomes research, Administrative claims data, Electronic medical records, ICES, Pharmacoepidemiology, Neurology, Methamphetamine use

Hazem Elmansy MD
helmansy@nosm.ca
Holmium laser enucleation of the prostate (HoLEP), Green light laser prostatectomy, Holmium vaporesection of the prostate, Top-down holmium laser enucleation of the prostate (top-down HoLEP), Ureteroscopy

Niki Kiepek PhD
Niki.Kiepek@dal.ca
Addiction, Substance use, Harm reduction, Therapeutic alliance, Rehabilitation, Opioids, Health professional education

Amed Kotb PhD, MD
akotb@nosm.ca
Urology, Urologic oncology, Bladder cancer, Kidney cancer, Prostate cancer

Zezos Petros PhD MD
zezosp@tbh.net
Gastroenterology, Inflammatory Bowel Diseases, Ulcerative colitis, Crohn’s disease, Hypercoagulation, Endoscopy

Walid Shahrour MD
walid.shahrour@gmail.com
Urethral reconstruction, Prostate cancer, Kidney cancer, Health case management

Ioannis Voustsadakis PhD, MD
ivoutsadakis@nosm.ca
Cancer, Therapeutics, Biomarkers