Remote Work
Toolkit

Supervisors, Co-Supervisors and Committee Members

The following are lists of Faculty Supervisors, Co-Supervisors and Committee Members for the Master of Medical Studies Program. Individuals will be asked to identify a potential Supervisor or Co-Supervisor and Supervisor in their application package. It is strongly encouraged that interested individuals contact Faculty Supervisors and Co-Supervisors whose research projects are aligned with their own. Faculty Supervisors, Co-Supervisors and Committee members can be part of thesis committees.

Supervisors
Co-Supervisors
Committee Members

Supervisors

Doug Boreham PhD
Medical Sciences Division, Division Head
Radiation Biology
dboreham@nosm.ca
More Info

Erin Cameron PhD
Human Sciences Division, Assistant Professor
Social Accountability, Rural Medical Education, Qualitative and Participatory Research Methods
ercameron@nosm.ca
More Info

Sandra Dorman PhD
Medical Sciences Division, Associate Professor
Health Promotion, Disease Prevention, Occupational Health and Safety, Physiology, Nutrition, Respirology
sdorman@laurentian.ca
More Info

Joseph Eibl PhD
Medical Sciences Division, Assistant Professor
Microbiology, Immunology
joe.eibl@nosm.ca

Geoffrey Hudson DPhil
Human Sciences Division, Associate Professor
History of Medicine
ghudson@nosm.ca
More Info

Vicki Kristman, PhD
Human Sciences Division, Associate Professor
Epidemiology, Work and Employment, Mental Health, Indigenous Health, Musculoskeletal and Brain Injury
vkristman@lakeheadu.ca
More Info

Elizabeth Levin PhD, CPsych
Human Sciences Division, Division Head
Clinical Child Psychology
elevin@nosm.ca
More Info

David Maclean PhD
Medical Sciences Division, Professor
Physiology
dmaclean@nosm.ca
More Info

Darrel Manitowabi PhD
Human Sciences Division, Associate Professor
History of Indigenous Health, Traditional Medicine, Social Determinants of Health, Medical Anthropology
dmanitowabi@nosm.ca
More Info

David Marsh MD
Clinical Sciences Division, Professor
Addiction Medicine
dmarsh@nosm.ca
More Info

Christopher Mushquash PhD
Human Sciences Division, Professor
Indigenous Mental Health, Substance Use, Addiction
chris.mushquash@lakeheadu.ca
More Info

Brian Ross PhD, MEd
Medical Sciences Division, Professor
Social Accountability, Community Placements, Place-Based Education Theory and Practice
brian.ross@nosm.ca
More Info

Greg Ross PhD
Medical Sciences Division, Professor
Physiology, Neuroscience
greg.ross@nosm.ca
More Info

Mazen Saleh PhD
Medical Sciences Division, Associate Professor
Bacteria, Toxin, Tuberculosis, Pathogenesis, Protein Secretion
msaleh@laurentian.ca
More Info

Paolo Sanzo DSc
Clinical Sciences Division, Associate Professor
Physiotherapy, Rehabilitation, Sports Medicine
psanzo@nosm.ca
More Info

David Savage MD PhD
Clinical Sciences Division, Assistant Professor
Emergency Medicine
dsavage@nosm.ca
More Info

Alain Simard PhD
Medical Sciences Division, Associate Professor
Immunology, Neuroimmunology, Immune Regulation, Multiple Sclerosis, Inflammatory Disease, Flow Cytometry, Animal Models of Disease
asimard@nosm.ca
More Info

Roger Strasser MBBS, BMedSc, MCISc
Clinical Sciences Division, Professor
Social Accountability, Generalism, Rural Health, and Family Medicine
roger.strasser@nosm.ca
More Info

Zacharias Suntres PhD
Medical Sciences Division, Professor
Pharmacology/Toxicology
zsuntres@nosm.ca
More Info

T.C. Tai PhD
Medical Sciences Division, Professor
Physiology, Pharmacology
tc.tai@nosm.ca
More Info

Sujeenthar Tharmalingam PhD
Medical Sciences Division, Assistant Professor
Cancer, Radiation Biology, Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Epigenetics, Rapid Diagnostics, Bioinformatics
sutharmalingam@nosm.ca
More Info

Mark Thibert MD
Clinical Sciences Division, Associate Professor
Plastic Surgery
mark.thibert@nosm.ca

Chris Thome PhD
Medical Sciences Division, Assistant Professor
Ionizing radiation, cell biology, molecular biology, carcinogenesis
cthome@nosm.ca
More Info

Marina Ulanova PhD
Medical Sciences Division, Professor
Immuno-Epidemiology of Bacterial Infections, Vaccinology, Host-Pathogen Interactions
marina.ulanova@nosm.ca
More Info

Chris Verschoor PhD
Medical Sciences Division, Assistant Professor
Immunology, Epidemiology, Aging, Frailty, Infectious diseases, Biomarkers of disease, Vaccination 
cverschoor@nosm.ca
More info

Co-Supervisors

Michael Conlon MD
Human Sciences Division, Associate Professor
Health Services, Epidemiology and Biostatistics, ICES
mconlon@hsnri.ca
More Info

Naana Jumah  MD, PhD
Clinical Sciences Division, Assistant Professor
Women’s Health, OB/GYN
njumah@nosm.ca

Niki Kiepek PhD
Primary appointment: Associate Professor, School of Occupational Therapy, Dalhousie University
Clinical Sciences Division, Assistant Professor
Substance use, addiction, harm reduction, occupational therapy, therapeutic alliance, patient rights 
Niki.Kiepek@dal.ca
More info

Jaroslav Kotalik MD
Clinical Sciences Division, Professor
jkotalik@lakeheadu.ca

Robert Ohle MD
Clinical Sciences Division, Assistant Professor
Emergency Medicine
robert.ohle@nosm.ca

David Thompson PhD
Clinical Sciences Division, Assistant Professor
Interprofessional education, interprofessional collaboration, knowledge translation, complexity theory 
dthompson@nosm.ca
More info

Committee Members

Amer Alaref MD
Clinical Sciences Division, Assistant Professor
aalaref@nosm.ca

Vishaal Bhambhwani MD
Clinical Sciences Division, Assistant Professor
Ophthalmology, Pediatric ophthalmology, Strabismus, Ocular motility disorders, Amblyopia, Cataract
vbhambhwani@nosm.ca
More info

James Crispo PhD
Human Sciences Division, Assistant Professor
Health services & outcomes research, Administrative claims data, Electronic medical records, ICES, Pharmacoepidemiology, Neurology, Methamphetamine use
jcrispo@nosm.ca
More info

Hazem Elmansy MD
Clinical Sciences Division, Associate Professor
Holmium laser enucleation of the prostate (HoLEP), Green light laser prostatectomy, Holmium vaporesection of the prostate, Top-down holmium laser enucleation of the prostate (top-down HoLEP), Ureteroscopy
helmansy@nosm.ca
More info

Mohammad Golrokhian-Sani MD
Clinical Sciences Division, Assistant Professor
Thyroid cancers, Sleep apnea, Vestibular disease, Hearing loss
mgolrokhiansani@nosm.ca
More info

Ruben Hummelen PhD, MD
Clinical Sciences Division, Associate Professor
Pregnancy, Gestational Diabetes, Indigenous Health, Birth outcomes, Probiotics, Microbiome
rhummelen@nosm.ca
More info

Ahmed Kotb PhD, MD
Clinical Sciences Division, Assistant Professor
Urology, Urologic oncology, Bladder cancer, Kidney cancer, Prostate cancer
akotb@nosm.ca
More info

Petros Zezos PhD MD
Clinical Sciences Division, Assistant Professor
Gastroenterology, Inflammatory Bowel Diseases, Ulcerative colitis, Crohn’s disease, Hypercoagulation, Endoscopy
zezosp@tbh.net
More info

Stacey Roles PhD
Clinical Sciences Division, Lecturer
Mental health, Psychiatry, Psychotherapy, Cognitive Behavioural Therapy, Compassion Focused Therapy
sroles@nosm.ca
More info

Walid Shahrour MD
Clinical Sciences Division, Associate Professor
Urethral reconstruction, Prostate cancer, Kidney cancer, Health case management
walid.shahrour@gmail.com

Ioannis Voutsadakis PhD, MD
Clinical Sciences Division, Associate Professor
Cancer, Therapeutics, Biomarkers
ivoutsadakis@nosm.ca
More info