Donate Now!

NOSM supporters honoured with Anishinabek Nation Lifetime Achievement Awards

Posted on March 2, 2022

Two friends of the Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) were recently honoured with Anishinabek Lifetime Achievement Awards at an awards ceremony hosted by the Anishinabek Nation. The awards honour those “who made their communities stronger and who have enriched the lives of many.”

Mary Jo Wabano of Wiikwemkoong Unceded Territory received the Anishinabek Lifetime Achievement Award for Health. She is the former Health Services Director in Wiikwemkoong. Mary Jo is well known for her academic, research and community work. She has dedicated her career to innovative health projects and remains deeply committed to working with youth. She continues to honour culturally appropriate approaches to care. “Mainstream research approaches require a substantial redesign to be relevant, respectful and effective for Aboriginal people and communities,” says Mary Jo.

The Lifetime Achievement in Public Service Award was given to Deborah Pegahmagabow of Wasausking First Nation. Deborah is the Health Service Director for Wausauksing and a community councillor. She has dedicated her career to expanding Wausauksing Health Centre staff and infrastructure. “Deborah’s dedication to the well-being of her community and to its members has shined brightly throughout these recent difficult and trying times,” says Sam Senecal, Community Coordinator at NOSM.

Both Mary Jo and Deborah have been supporters of NOSM’s establishment, growth and ongoing initiatives, specifically programs that offer cultural immersion and learning in First Nation communities across Northern Ontario.

Congratulations to all recipients and nominees of the 2022 Anishinabek Nation Lifetime Achievement Awards.