Donate Now!

Directors Vote to Modify Board Composition to Advance NOSM

Posted on March 22, 2013

Balance, Expertise, and Range of Perspectives are  Key to Effective Governance

Using a combination of video- and tele-conference connectivity across Northern Ontario, the Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) held a regular meeting of the Board of Directors on Wednesday, March 20, 2013.

After presentations by the Board’s Governance Review Working Group, Directors of the Board voted to accept recommendations made to modify the size and composition of NOSM’s Board.  Comprised of 19 Directors, the new structure will give priority to the recruitment of different skills, expertise and experience of Board members, while still reflecting the geographic and demographic diversity of Northeastern and Northwestern Ontario, including Aboriginal, Francophone and rural and remote communities. 

Guidelines, which were developed by the Governance Committee in consultation with Board members and key stakeholders, recommend that Directors should be drawn widely to achieve a balance of skills and expertise needed for the Board to fulfill its governance roles and responsibilities.   In particular, the Board will look to recruit members with academic, governance, financial, health care, and external relations experience.  In addition,it is recommended that, subject to exceptional circumstances, all Directors should be residents of Northern Ontario. 

The modified Board size will take effect in September 2013, with an ongoing commitment to recruit members representing a range of perspectives who also bring different skill sets over time. 

The Directors received reports from several Board Committees, including the Finance and Audit, Quality Monitoring, Executive, and Advancement Committees.

The Directors also reviewed the Financial Report for the period ending January 31, 2013.

The next meeting of the Board of Directors is the Annual Board Face-to-Face Meeting scheduled for May 9-10, 2013 in Fort Frances, Ontario.

For a complete list of Board members, please visit our website at