Donate Now!

Twelve New Members Appointed to NOSM Board of Directors

Posted on September 16, 2011

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) held its Annual Members and Board of Directors meetings on Wednesday, September 14, 2011. These meetings were video-linked between the School’s West Campus at Lakehead University in Thunder Bay and its East Campus at Laurentian University in Sudbury, with other Directors participating via teleconference. The audited financial statements for the year ending April 30, 2011 were approved, and 12 new members were appointed to the Board of Directors. New inductees into the Board comprised of 35 members include:

-Dr. Robert Algie
-Mr. Kevin Cleghorn
-Dr. Adam Exley
-Debbie Lipscombe
-Dr. Louise Logan
-Mrs. Marianne Matichuk
-Mr. James Morris
-Dr. Teresa O’Driscoll
-Mr. Ben Petersen
-Mr. Tim Pile
-Mrs. Angela Robson
-Ms. Liane Villano

The following members were thanked for their significant contribution to the Northern Ontario School of Medicine, as their term on the Board ended:

-Dr. Jean Anawati
-Mr. Ron Chrysler
-Ms. Helen Cromarty
-Mr. James ‘Jim’ Gordon
-Dr. Peter Hutten Czapski
-Dr. Neil S. McLeod
-Dr. Dermot McLoughlin
-Dr. William McMullen
-Dr. Paul Miron
-Dr. Adam Moir
-Mr. Brian Walmark

In accordance with Board policy regarding Officers of the Corporation, Mr. Dominic Giroux, President of Laurentian University, was confirmed as Chair of the Board. Dr. Brian J.R. Stevenson, President of Lakehead University, was confirmed as Vice-Chair of the Board.

The Directors received reports from Board Committees, including the Finance and Audit, Board Executive, and Nominating Committees. The Board also received a report from the School’s Francophone Reference Group.

The Directors expressed their sadness at the recent passing of fellow Board member Ms. Francine Chartrand-Dutrisac. Ms. Chartrand-Dutrisac was involved with the Northern Ontario School of Medicine for many years in a variety of capacities, including as Director of Development Liaison, and more recently as a consultant to the Francophone Affairs Unit and NOSM’s Francophone Reference Group, and Board member. Ms. Chartrand-Dutrisac has been a great source of enrichment and inspiration to the NOSM community, and will be greatly missed.

The next meeting of the Board of Directors will be held in Thunder Bay on December 1 & 2, 2011.