Donate Now!

Four New Members Appointed to NOSM Board of Directors

Posted on September 20, 2007

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) held its Annual Members meeting and Board of Directors meetings yesterday. These meetings were video-linked between the School’s West Campus at Lakehead University in Thunder Bay and its East Campus at Laurentian University in Sudbury, with other Directors participating via teleconference.

At the Annual Members Meeting, which involves one representative each of Laurentian University and Lakehead University, the audited financial statements for the year ending April 30, 2007 were approved, and members of the Board of Directors for 2007 – 2008 were appointed. The following new Directors were inducted: Jackie Dojack, Tracy Buckler, Arie Hoogenboom, and Fabien Hébert.

Several Directors were also re-appointed, including: John Augustine, John Whitfield, Maureen Lacroix, Sheila Hardy, Hermann Falter, Elizabeth Moore, Liliane Beauchamp, Goyce Kakegamic, and Michael O’Neill.

The Directors received reports from Board Committees, including the Finance and Audit, Quality Monitoring, Governance, Board Executive, Advancement, and Nominating Committees. At the recommendation of the Governance Committee, the Board approved a Conflict of Interest Policy.

A decision was made by the Board to approve a Collaboration Agreement between the North East Local Health Integration Network, North West Local Health Integration Network (“LHINs”), and NOSM.

The next meeting of the Board of Directors will be held on December 6 and 7, 2007 in Thunder Bay.