Télétravail

L’art de traiter les patients en français

Link to the
Dre Crystal Boulianne, ancienne de l’EMNO qui établit sa pratique à Kapuskasing.

 

« Quand j’ai mal, j’ai mal en français. »

Il est difficile d’imaginer de recevoir des soins médicaux dans une langue étrangère.    Dre Crystal Boulianne, une ancienne de l’École de médecine du Nord de l’Ontario, qui espère établir sa pratique médicale après l’été, s’engage à éliminer les barrières linguistiques qui nuisent aux soins des francophones à Kapuskasing. Ses efforts sont si formidables, qu’elle vient de remporter le prix « résidente de médecine de famille 2019 pour son étude des communautés qui souffrent d’inégalités de santé », remis par le Collège de médecin de famille du Canada (CMFC) via la Fondation pour l’avancement de la médecine familiale.  Elle va recevoir le prix en novembre, lors du forum de médecine familiale 2019, à Vancouver.

Originaire de la région de Kapuskasing, Dre Boulianne a été élevée en anglais à la maison et a fréquenté l’école élémentaire et secondaire dans le programme d’immersion française.  Dès un jeune âge, elle reconnaissait l’importance du bilinguisme dans sa communauté.  En travaillant et en vivant dans la région, elle fut inspirée d’apprendre la langue française.

Pendant sa troisième année à l’institution, Dre Boulianne devait faire un stage de huit mois dans une communauté au nord de l’Ontario. Elle a choisi Hearst, une communauté majoritairement francophone, pour s’immerger dans la langue et la culture. Pendant son séjour dans cette petite ville, Dre Boulianne a entrepris un projet de recherche sur les services de santé pour les citoyens ayant trait au système de renvois et de suivis; elle a remarqué un défi important.

Lorsqu’un patient francophone requiert des suivis et est dirigé auprès d’un plus grand centre médical comme Sudbury, Timmins ou Thunder Bay, il n’y a pas de garantie qu’il y aura des services en français.  « J’ai entendu des histoires d’horreur de personnes âgées, ayant été redirigées pour des soins dans des villes comme Sudbury, qui y arrivent par ambulance et ne reçoivent pas de services en français. Ils reviennent à Kapuskasing sans avoir compris les instructions qu’ils ont reçues. Les services qui sont disponibles sont-ils vraiment accessibles? » signale Dre Boulianne.

D’après le Comissariat aux services en français, (qui fait maintenant partie du Bureau de l’Ombudsman de l’Ontario), l’offre active assure les services gouvernementaux offert en français. « Pour les utilisateurs du système de santé, l’offre active devient synonyme de sécurité. »

Dre Boulianne est passionnée d’offrir des services médicaux équitables à tous ses patients.  Son but ultime est de faire changer la façon dont les médecins de petites communautés francophones transfèrent les patients francophones aux plus grand centres médicaux.  Elle veut que les patients aient le choix d’obtenir des services d’un spécialiste francophone.

« On trouve ça drôle, mon mari et moi, et même mes superviseurs, parce que je suis la petite anglophone et c’est moi qui se bat pour assurer les droits des francophones » exclame Dre Boulianne.

Selon Dre Boulianne, il semble que les nuances de la médecine pour les francophones ne sont pas différentes de celles des anglophones.  Les problèmes et les inquiétudes sont souvent identiques.  Ce qui diffère c’est la planification des soins.  En renvoyant des patients francophones vers des professionnels de la santé francophone, la barrière linguistique est éliminée.

Il est difficile d’élaborer une solution concrète pour assurer que tous les citoyens aient accès à des soins de santé qu’ils méritent.  La première étape a trait à la sensibilisation des médecins à l’offre active des soins de santé équitables et sécuritaires dans la langue de préférence du patient. C’est aussi une question de renseigner les patients sur leurs droits de recevoir les soins de santé en français, s’ils le veulent.  C’est une tâche parfois difficile, mais il est rassurant de pouvoir compter sur des professionnels de la santé comme Dre Boulianne pour éclairer la piste et mener la cause à bien.

Remote Work
Toolkit

The Art of Treating Patients in French

Link to the
Dr. Crystal Boulianne is a NOSM alumnus who is currently practicing in Kapuskasing.

“When I hurt, I hurt in French.”

It is hard to imagine receiving health-care services in a foreign language. Dr. Crystal Boulianne, Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) alumna, is committed to eliminating linguistic barriers that affect the quality of health care for the Francophone population of Kapuskasing. Her efforts are so formidable, that she was awarded the 2019 Family Medicine Resident Award for the Study of Communities Impacted by Health Disparities granted by the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) through the Foundation for Advancing Family Medicine. Boulianne will receive the award in November, during the CFPC’s 2019 Family Medicine Forum in Vancouver.

Born in Kapuskasing, Boulianne was raised in an Anglophone household and attended elementary and high school in the French immersion program. At a young age, she recognized the value of bilingualism in her community. While living and working in the region, she was inspired to learn more about the French language. Driven to grasp the vocabulary, she quickly mastered the language.

For Boulianne, speaking French gives her another outlet to express herself⁠—through the art of communication. To her, the language is both personal and professional.

In fact, Boulianne got so comfortable with the language that during her third year at NOSM, she chose to complete her entire eight-month Comprehensive Community Clerkship (CCC) placement in the town of Hearst, a predominantly Francophone community. While there, Boulianne undertook a research project focused on the health-care services for Francophones who are transferred to larger, predominantly Anglophone center, for specialized treatment. The results highlighted a significant obstacle.

“I heard horror stories of elderly patients being redirected to cities like Sudbury for health care, that arrive by ambulance, and are unable to communicate in their own language,” explains Boulianne. “They would come back to Kapuskasing without an understanding of the instructions they had received. Are the services considered available, really available,” questions Boulianne. She noted that when follow-up appointments are required, and the patient is steered towards a larger urban centre⁠—like Sudbury, Timmins or Thunder Bay⁠—there is no guarantee that the service the patient will receive will actually be available in French.

Boulianne, who hopes to establish her medical practice following the summer of 2019, remains passionate in her efforts to offer equal medical services for all her patients. Her ultimate goal is to change the way the physicians in smaller Francophone communities transfer their patients to larger medical centers. She says she hopes that someday patients will have the right to demand access to Francophone specialists. To Boulianne, “Active Offer” means ensuring that services in French are obvious, easily available, and accessible for all her patients.

According to the French Language Services Commissioner’s Office (now part of the Office of the Ombudsman of Ontario), Active Offer is “the guarantee of the quality of government services offered to the public. For the patients navigating the health care system, active offer is synonymous with safety.”

“My husband and I, and even my supervisors, find it funny that I am an Anglophone, and it is me who is fighting to ensure the rights for Francophones,” says Boulianne.

From her perspective, Boulianne feels that the nuances of medical care for Francophones do not differ widely from Anglophone care. However, what does differ is how care is planned. By providing Francophone patients with access to Francophone health-care professionals, the linguistic barrier is eliminated.

Boulianne says that although it is difficult to find a concrete solution to ensure equal access to health care, the first step is to normalize the concept of the Active Offer for physicians⁠—to make it commonplace. In order to ensure equal and safe medical services, Boulianne believes Francophones should be informed of their right to receive health care in French and feel empowered to request care in their preferred language.

In the meantime, Boulianne says she is dedicated to blazing the trail.