Remote Work
Toolkit

Resident Research Resources

Hello NOSM Residents!

The Research and Graduate Studies Office is here to help you make the most of your research activities. We encourage all residents to subscribe to our biweekly research newsletter, Research Matters, to stay up-to-date on the latest research news and events. We also encourage you to reach out to us at research@nosm.ca for any questions, or to book a time to chat with one of our coordinators.  Best of luck with your residency, and we look forward to working with you.

The Research and Graduate Studies Team

Research Office Contacts and Links to Useful Information

Resident Research Contacts

Program Name Position Contact Information
Research and Graduate Studies Office Ghislaine Attema Research Coordinator gpilotattema@nosm.ca
Research and Graduate Studies Office Lyne Morvan Research Coordinator lmorvan@nosm.ca
Anesthesiology Dr. Kim Wong Research Coordinator skims214@gmail.com
Family Medicine Sasha Dubois Research Tutor-Thunder Bay sdubois@nosm.ca
Family Medicine John Hogenbirk Research Tutor-Sudbury jhpgenbirk@nosm.ca
Family Medicine Dr. Kerry Reed Research Tutor-North Bay kreed@nosm.ca
Family Medicine Dr. Lynn Smith Research Tutor-Timmins lsmith@laurentian.ca
Family Medicine Dr. David Savage Research Tutor-Thunder Bay dsavage@nosm.ca
Family Medicine Nicola Shaw Research Tutor-Sault Ste. Marie Nicola.shaw@algomau.ca
General Surgery Dr. Hector Roldan Research Coordinator hectorroldan@cogeco.ca
Internal Medicine Dr. Nisha Haroon Research Coordinator-Sudbury drnishanigilendo@gmail.com
Internal Medicine Dr. Olexiy Aseyev Research Coordinator-Thunder Bay olexiy.aseyev@gmail.com
Orthopedic Surgery Dr. Tina Lefrancois Research Coordinator tinalefrancois@gmail.com
Pediatrics Dr. Marina Ulanova Research Coordinator mulanova@nosm.ca
Psychiatry Dr. Chiachen Cheng Research Coordinator chcheng@nosm.ca
Public Health and Preventative Medicine Sasha Dubois Research Tutor sdubois@nosm.ca

Resident Research Funding Opportunities

Resident Research Awards

Organization Name of Award Amount of Award Eligibility Date Link to Award
American Society of Hematology ASH Minority Medical Resident Award Program $5000 Stipend plus $1000 for travel See Guidelines for Specifics Request a mentor Application Open-August Application Deadline November ASH Minority Medical Resident Award
Diabetes Canada  Undergoing review and relaunch in May 2021 TBD TBD TBD Diabetes Canada Awards
Canadian Cancer Society Travel Award $2,000 See Guidelines for Specifics 3 competitions per year: January, May, September Canadian Cancer Society Travel Award
Physicians Services Incorporated (PSI) Resident Research Grant $30,000 for 2 years See Guidelines for Specifics No deadlines, can apply at any time PSI Funding Opportunities
Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada Robert Maudsley Fellowship for Studies in Medical Education $40,000 for 2 years See Guidelines for Specifics TBD Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada
Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada The Dr. Karen Mann Catalyst Grant in Medical Education Research $30,000 for 1 or 2 years See Guidelines for Specifics TBD Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada