Donate Now!

MERLIN Team Members

Faculty

Erin Cameron, B.Ed, MA, PhD
Assistant Professor, Medical Education
MERLIN Chair

NOSM at Lakehead
ercameron@nosm.ca

Research Interests: Social accountability, rural medical education, qualitative and participatory research methods

Brian Ross, PhD, MEd
Professor of Pharmacology
Interim Associate Dean, UME

NOSM at Lakehead
brian.ross@nosm.ca

Research Interests: Social accountability, community placements, place-based education theory and practice

Roger Strasser, MBBS, BMedSc, MCISc
Professor of Rural Health
Founding Dean of NOSM

NOSM at Laurentian
roger.strasser@nosm.ca

Research Interests: Social accountability, generalism, rural health, and family medicine

James Goertzen, MD, MCISc, CCFP, FCFP
Assistant Dean, CEPD

NOSM at Lakehead
jgoertzen@nosm.ca

Research Interests: Medical education, compassionate leadership, professionalism,

Sarah McIsaac, MBBCh, MEd, FRCPC
Medical Director, Faculty Development
Assistant Professor, Clinical Sciences Division

NOSM at Laurentian
smcisaac@nosm.ca

Research Interests: Faculty development, needs assessment, and organization change management

Robert Anderson, MD, FRCPC
Program Director, Anesthesiology
Associate Professor, Clinical Sciences Division

NOSM at Laurentian
randerson@nosm.ca

Alex Anawati, BSc, MD, CCFP-EM
Global Health Coordinator
Assistant Professor, Clinical Sciences Division

NOSM at Laurentian
aanawati@nosm.ca

Research Interests: Social accountability of health institutions and health professional education programs (other than medical schools)

Paul Miron, MSc, MD, CCFP
NOSM Family Medicine Program Director
Associate Professor, Clinical Sciences Division

pmiron@nosm.ca
Research Interests: Selection, Assessments, and Program Evaluation

Marion Maar, BSc, MA, PhD
Associate Professor, Human Sciences Division

NOSM at Laurentian
mmaar@nosm.ca

Research Interests:
Cultural Safety (community based curriculum co-design, experiential learning and Indigenous pedagogy, service provider education and development, Indigenous arts in curriculum, evaluation and assessment)
-Opioid use in First Nations
-Anishnaabe cultural, language, and land based approaches

Scholars

Jeff Bachiu
UME Administrative Manager, Curriculum and Planning
NOSM at Laurentian

jbachiu@nosm.ca

Jennifer Fawcett
Senior Director, Postgraduate Education
NOSM at Lakehead

jennifer.fawcett@nosm.ca

John Friesen
Director, UME Education
NOSM at Lakehead

john.friesen@nosm.ca

John Dabous
Instructional Designer
NOSM at Laurentian

jdabous@nosm.ca

John Hogenbirk, PhD
Family Medicine Research Tutor
NOSM at Laurentian

john.hogenbirk@nosm.ca

Christina Tremblay
Assistant Instructional Designer
NOSM at Laurentian

christina.tremblay@nosm.ca

Clare Cook, PhD
CEPD Research Coordinator
NOSM at Lakehead

ccook@nosm.ca

Ghislaine Pilot-Attema
Research Coordinator
NOSM at Lakehead

gpilotattema@nosm.ca

Staff

 

 

Hafsa Siddiqui
MERLIN Research Intern

Hafsa Siddiqui is a MERLIN research intern at NOSM. She holds an undergraduate degree in finance, along with minors in psychology and economics from Lakehead University. She recently completed her Master of Science in Management degree, and she intends to pursue further education in health sciences. Hafsa is passionate about health system transformation, and improving the delivery of medical services in the north through research and innovative business models. In her spare time, Hafsa runs a social enterprise dedicated to improving the health of diabetics in Northern Ontario.

 

 

Holly Fleming
MERLIN Research Assistant

Holly Fleming is a MERLIN research assistant. She is currently on the tail end of doing a Masters of Environmental Studies in Northern Environments and Cultures where she is working on a project that looks at mapping the story aspect of indigenous knowledge. She holds an undergraduate degree in archaeology with a minor in Russian which she completed at University of Calgary, University of Helsinki and Memorial University of Newfoundland. She is passionate about understanding place and community as it relates to medical education and looks forward to developing this passion through her work with the MERLIN team at NOSM. Outside of research she is an avid cross country skier, hiker, backpacker, runner, biker, kayaker and climber and loves to push her limits in all outdoor activities.

 

 

Brianne Wood
MERLIN Postdoctoral Fellow

Brianne Wood is a postdoctoral fellow with MERLIN at NOSM whose research interests include person- and community-centered research methods and system design, and learning health systems. She recently completed her PhD in Epidemiology at the University of Ottawa, and has worked as an epidemiologist in healthcare and public health sectors in Northwestern Ontario since 2015. She is excited to mobilize medical education research by helping to incorporate community and health system voices into the research process. When not in front of a computer, Brianne loves to adventure outside (bike, ski, paddle, …).

 

Devon Lee
MERLIN Research Assistant

Devon Lee is a PhD student in the Faculty of Education at Lakehead University studying Social, Cultural, and Political Contexts of Education. Her research focus is in rural adult education. She is a contract lecturer in the Faculty of Education in the area of climate change pedagogy and part of an interdisciplinary research community analyzing the use of contemplative practices in higher education. She holds a MEd and a BEd from Lakehead University and a BS in Integrated Strategic Communication from the University of Kentucky. Raised in rural Kentucky, she is interested in the unique challenges and opportunities posed by rural communities. She is pleased to be working with MERLIN to support medical education in Northern Ontario.