About NOSM Education Research Communities

Keynote & Plenary Speakers

Keynote Speaker

Tuesday, October 9, 2012


Dr. Timothy G. Evans
Dean at the James P. Grant School of Public Health at BRAC University and International Centre for Diarrhoeal Disease Research, Bangladesh

A dual national of Canada and the United States, Dr. Timothy G. Evans is the Dean at the James P. Grant School of Public Health at BRAC University and International Centre for Diarrhoeal Disease Research, Bangladesh. From 1995 to 1997, he was an Assistant Professor, International Health Economics at Harvard School of Public Health, as well as an Attending Physician, General Internal Medicine, at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital.  In 2003, he joined the World Health Organization as an Assistant Director General with responsibility for Evidence, Information, Research and Policy.  He is currently a Commissioner on the Commission on Health Professional Leadership in the 21st Century, a member of the Board of the Public Health Foundation of India, and serves as a scientific  advisor to the Institute of Population and Public Health of the Canadian Institutes for Health Research.



Plenary Speakers

Wednesday, October 10, 2012


Dr. Erica Wheeler
Technical Officer, Department for Health Systems Policies and Workforce, World Health Organization (WHO)
Geneva, Switzerland





Dr. Barry Kistnasamy
Executive Director,  National Institute for Occupational Health, National Health Laboratory Service
South Africa





Dr. Ainsley McCaskill
Resident Medical Officer





Dr. Agnes Soucat, MD, MPH, Ph.D.
Director for Human Development for the African Development Bank
Tunis Belvédère, Tunisia




Dr. Elsie Kiguli-Malwadde
Director of the Medical Education Partnership Initiative (MEPI ) Coordinating Center at The African Centre for Global Health and Social Transformation (ACHEST)



Dr. Gretchen Roedde
Family Physician, Haileybury Family Health Team
Haileybury, Ontario, Canada




Thursday, October 11, 2012

Dr. Charles Boelen, MD
International Consultant in Health Systems and Personnel




Dr. Della Yarnold
Research Chair Poche Centre for Aboriginal Health Research
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia




Dr. Doris Mitchell
Family Physician
Chapleau, Ontario, Canada





Dr. Bryan MacLeod and Cambrian Improv Theatre Group
“Failing well and learning to laugh about it”… lessons in regaining our humanity through improv theatre…





Friday, October 12, 2012

Dr. Ted Epperley, MD
Program Director and Chief Executive Officer of the Family Medicine Residency of Idaho
Idaho, United States of America




Dr. Jill Downie
Professor, Pro Vice-Chancellor of the Faculty of Health and Deputy Vice-Chancellor Education at Curtin University
Perth, Western Australia, Australia




Dr. Jill Konkin
Associate Dean, Community Engagement, Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry, University of Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada





Saturday, October 13, 2012

Dr. Ian Couper
(Dr. John Macleod Oration Award Recipient)
Professor of Rural Health at the University of the Witwatersrand
Johannesburg, South Africa




NOSM Facebook NOSM Twitter NOSM YouTube