Télétravail

Communications en français

L’École de médecine du Nord de l’Ontario (EMNO) a un mandat social qui l’oblige à tenir compte de la diversité culturelle de la région qu’elle dessert, y compris des besoins des gens et des communautés francophones du Nord de l’Ontario.

Sachant qu’environ vingt-sept pour cent (27 %) de la population franco-ontarienne vit dans le Nord de l’Ontario, l’EMNO s’efforce de veiller à ce que la culture et les besoins linguistiques des francophones du Nord de l’Ontario soient pris en compte dans toutes ses activités. Par conséquent, nous encourageons nos étudiants à apprendre et à comprendre l’histoire, la tradition et la culture franco-ontariennes, et nous leur offrons l’occasion d’apprendre le français. Nous donnons aussi aux étudiants qui travaillent en français le plus d’occasions possible d’effectuer leurs études en français, surtout dans le cadre de stages dans des services de santé et collectivités francophones.

La langue d’administration et d’enseignement officielle est l’anglais. Toutefois, les publications externes de l’école ainsi que certaines programmations officieuses sont disponibles en français.

En raison de la place importante que les habitants et les collectivités francophones occupent dans le Nord de l’Ontario et à l’EMNO, des annonces majeures, des communiqués de presse et certains documents sont publiés également en français. Conformément au mandat de l’EMNO, certains postes (de professeurs et de soutien) doivent être comblés par des personnes maîtrisant l’anglais et le français et sont annoncés dans les deux langues. Lors du recrutement à tous les postes de l’École de médecine du Nord de l’Ontario, la capacité de communiquer en français constitue un atout.

Le Bureau des affaires francophones et le Groupe consultatif francophone de l’École travaillent ensemble pour assurer la liaison avec les communautés francophones du Nord de l’Ontario afin de recenser les besoins de la population francophone et d’y répondre au fil du développement de l’EMNO.

Remote Work
Toolkit

French Language Communications

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM), has a mandate to be socially accountable to the cultural diversity of the region it serves, including the needs of Francophone people and communities in Northern Ontario.

Of the total Franco-Ontarian population, twenty-seven per cent (27%) of the Francophones live in Northern Ontario.  The School will endeavour to ensure that all its activities demonstrate sensitivity to an understanding of the cultural and linguistic needs of Francophones in Northern Ontario.  All NOSM students will be encouraged to develop knowledge and understanding of the history, tradition and culture of Francophone people, and will be offered the opportunity to learn French.  Students for whom French is their working language will be offered as many opportunities as is possible to pursue their studies in the French language, particularly through clinical placements in French language health services and Francophone communities.

The official language of administration and instruction is English. However, the school’s external publications as well as some unofficial programming are available in French.

Recognizing the importance of Francophone people and communities in Northern Ontario and at NOSM, major announcements, media releases, and selected documents will be available in French. Consistent with the Medical School’s mandate, some positions in the Medical School may require personnel (faculty and staff) who are bilingual in English and French.  These positions will be advertised in French as well as in English. An ability to communicate in French will be considered an asset in recruitment to all positions at NOSM.

The School’s Francophone Affairs Unit and the Francophone Reference Group (FRG) work collaboratively to liaise with Francophone communities in Northern Ontario for the purpose of identifying and responding to the needs of Francophone people in the ongoing development of NOSM.