About NOSM Education Research Communities

Local NOSM Groups

Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) faculty, staff, and students do not function in a traditional medical school building.  Rather, the walls of the School are the boundaries of Northern Ontario, and at any given time an individual may be working at one of the school's two campuses, or in a remote rural or urban community.

The pervasiveness of NOSM across Northern Ontario necessitates a conduit through which the region's peoples and communities can have input into the Medical School's activites. 

Thus far, thirteen Local NOSM Groups (LNGs) have been created at the Northern Ontario School of Medicine to ensure local representation within the School, and to facilitate the smooth integration of medical students into communities by means of orientation programs and introductions to community members.

All third-year students acquire practical, patient-centred learning through Comprehensive Community Clerkships (CCC) in these thirteen designated communities. As the School continues to evolve, more local NOSM Groups will be included in a progressively expanding network of relationships, thus fulfiling NOSM's commitment to build partnerhsips with communities and health organizations across all of Northern Ontario.

The LNGs also provide a mechanism for both an individual community and the School to stay abreast of each other's respective developments.

Membership of the LNGs varies, depending on the need and desire of the individual community.  Generally, membership includes broad representation from faculty, community leaders, individuals, and local health-care professionals.  Groups meet on a regular basis and discuss such issues as: recruitment, retention, showcasing the community, travel, support for NOSM students, linguistic and cultural issues, and any other issue the Group feels is of importance to both NOSM and its community.

LNGs are currently working with NOSM in the following communities:

  • Bracebridge
  • Dryden
  • Fort Frances
  • Hearst
  • Huntsville
  • Kapuskasing
  • Kenora
  • Manitoulin Island
  • North Bay
  • Parry Sound
  • Sault Ste. Marie
  • Sioux Lookout
  • Temiskaming Shores
  • Timmins
  • Thunder Bay 

Partnering in Teaching and Learning with the Northern Ontario School of Medicine 



NOSM Facebook NOSM Twitter NOSM YouTube