About NOSM Education Research Communities

Media Release

Four New Members Appointed to NOSM Board of Directors

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) held its Annual Members meeting and Board of Directors meetings yesterday. These meetings were video-linked between the School’s West Campus at Lakehead University in Thunder Bay and its East Campus at Laurentian University in Sudbury, with other Directors participating via teleconference.

At the Annual Members Meeting, which involves one representative each of Laurentian University and Lakehead University, the audited financial statements for the year ending April 30, 2007 were approved, and members of the Board of Directors for 2007 - 2008 were appointed. The following new Directors were inducted: Jackie Dojack, Tracy Buckler, Arie Hoogenboom, and Fabien Hébert.

Several Directors were also re-appointed, including: John Augustine, John Whitfield, Maureen Lacroix, Sheila Hardy, Hermann Falter, Elizabeth Moore, Liliane Beauchamp, Goyce Kakegamic, and Michael O’Neill.

The Directors received reports from Board Committees, including the Finance and Audit, Quality Monitoring, Governance, Board Executive, Advancement, and Nominating Committees. At the recommendation of the Governance Committee, the Board approved a Conflict of Interest Policy.

A decision was made by the Board to approve a Collaboration Agreement between the North East Local Health Integration Network, North West Local Health Integration Network (“LHINs”), and NOSM.

The next meeting of the Board of Directors will be held on December 6 and 7, 2007 in Thunder Bay.

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine is a pioneering faculty of medicine. The School is a joint initiative of Lakehead and Laurentian Universities with main campuses in Thunder Bay and Sudbury, and multiple teaching and research sites across Northern Ontario. By educating skilled physicians and undertaking health research suited to community needs, the School will become a cornerstone of community health care in Northern Ontario.

-- 30 --

                                                                      – 30 – 

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine is committed to the education of high quality physicians and health professionals, and to international recognition as a leader in distributed, learning-centered, community-engaged education and research. 

Kimberley Larkin
Communications Officer
Phone: 705-662-7243
Email: klarkin@nosm.ca 


NOSM Facebook NOSM Twitter NOSM YouTube