About NOSM Education Research Communities

Media Release

NOSM Faculty, Board Ratify Three Year Collective Agreement

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) and the NOSM faculty Union (Unit 1 of Ontario Public Service Employees Union [OPSEU] Local 677) are pleased to announce the ratification of their fourth collective agreement, covering full-time faculty, professional librarians, and professional staff at the School. 

The faculty Union's Members voted in favour of the new collective agreement on July 23, 2015. The agreement was ratified by NOSM's Board of Directors on July 31, 2015. 

The agreement covers three years and is in effect from July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2018. It provides for annual wage increases of 1 % and $1150 in the first year, followed by 1.5 % in the second and 1.75 % in the final year, with provision for Lakehead University and Laurentian University comparator adjustments in years 2 and 3. The agreement also includes enhancements to various components of the benefit package over the three-year agreement as well as a number of other improvements.

Formal negotiations began in February 2015, led by chief negotiators Dr. Hermann Falter (NOSM) and Dr. Geoffrey Hudson (faculty Union). NOSM and its Board of Directors look forward to the continuation of a strong partnership with OPSEU Unit 1, and are appreciative of their Members' contributions to the School's vision of Innovative Education and Research for a Healthier North. The faculty Union is committed to its ongoing professional and productive relationship with the Board of Directors. 

For more information, kindly contact: 

Dr. Moira McPherson, Chair of the Board of Directors
Northern Ontario School of Medicine
Provost and VP Academic, Lakehead University
Phone:          807-343-8640 

Dr. Robert Kerr, Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors
Northern Ontario School of Medicine
VP Academic and Provost, Laurentian University
Phone:          705-675-1151 ext. 3410

Ms. Kim Daynard, Director of Communications
Northern Ontario School of Medicine
Phone:          807-766-7379
Cell:              807-7631-5718
Email:           kdaynard@nosm.ca

Dr. Brian Ross, President
Unit 1, OPSEU Local 677
Phone:           807-766-7394
Email:            office@nosmfa.ca   

                                                                      – 30 – 

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine is committed to the education of high quality physicians and health professionals, and to international recognition as a leader in distributed, learning-centered, community-engaged education and research. 

Kimberley Larkin
Communications Officer
Phone: 705-662-7243
Email: klarkin@nosm.ca 


NOSM Facebook NOSM Twitter NOSM YouTube