About NOSM Education Research Communities

Media Release

Four New Members Appointed to NOSM Board of Directors

Thursday, September 25, 2014

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) held its Annual Members and Board of Directors meetings on Wednesday, September 24, 2014.  These meetings were video-conferenced between  Lakehead University in Thunder Bay and Laurentian University in Sudbury, with other members participating via tele- and web-conference. 

Board members Kevin Cleghorn and Dr. Kathryn Gibson were thanked for their significant contribution to the Northern Ontario School of Medicine, as their terms completed September 24, 2014.

At the recommendation of the Board's Governance Committee and Nominations and Community Relations Subcommittee, the Board appointed four new members to NOSM's Board of Directors:

  • Ken Boschoff
  • Pierre Dumas
  • Krista Marcotte
  • Gary Boissoneau  

In accordance with Board policy regarding Officers of the Corporation, Dr. Brian J.R. Stevenson, President of Lakehead University, was confirmed as Chair of the Board and Dr. Robert Kerr, Vice President, Academic and Provost of Laurentian University, was confirmed as Vice-Chair. 

The audited financial statements for the year ending April 30, 2014, and the Board approved that BDO Canada LLP be appointed as auditors for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2015.

In an overview of recent NOSM activities, Dr. Roger Strasser, Dean, spoke about the extensive community engagement that took place over the last four months. From May to September 2014, Dr. Roger Strasser, Associate Dean of Community Engagement and Senior Associate Dean at Laurentian University, Dr. David Marsh, senior leaders, and staff travelled to more than 50 Northern, rural, remote, Francophone, and Aboriginal communities across the North to meet with individuals, organizations, health-care professionals, and faculty to discuss Northern Ontarians' ongoing health-related needs. The input received is providing important guidance to setting the priorities of NOSM's 2015-2020 Strategic Plan.

The next Board of Directors meeting will be held in Sudbury on November 27 and 28, 2014.

For a complete list of Board members, please visit our website at nosm.ca.  


Dr. Brian Stevenson, Chair of the Board of Directors
Northern Ontario School of Medicine
Tel.  807-343-8200  

Dr. Robert Kerr, Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors
Northern Ontario School of Medicine
Tel.  705-675-1151 Ext. 3410  

Ms. Kim Daynard, Director of Communications
Northern Ontario School of Medicine
Tel.  807-766-7379    Cell  807-631-5718

                                                                      – 30 – 

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine is committed to the education of high quality physicians and health professionals, and to international recognition as a leader in distributed, learning-centered, community-engaged education and research. 

Kimberley Larkin
Communications Officer
Phone: 705-662-7243
Email: klarkin@nosm.ca 


NOSM Facebook NOSM Twitter NOSM YouTube