About NOSM Education Research Communities

Media Release

NOSM Faculty and Learner Receive National Accolades

Wednesday, April 30, 2014

In Ottawa on April 26 and 27, 2014, two faculty members and one learner from the Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) were lauded with national awards at the  Canadian Conference for Medical Education  (CCME), the premier medical education conference in Canada which hosts the largest annual gathering of medical educators in the country. 

  • Dr. Sarah Mary McIsaac , NOSM-Ottawa Anesthesiology resident was awarded the  Canadian Resident Matching Service (CaRMS) Sandra Banner Student Award for Leadership . The purpose of this annual award is to encourage the development of future leaders in medicine. The $5,000 award is given an undergraduate or postgraduate medical student to be used for leadership education.
  • Dr. Rachel Ellaway , NOSM Assistant Dean, Curriculum and Planning and Dr. David Topps from the University of Calgary (NOSM's former Director of e-Learning) were awarded the  Association of Faculties of Medicine (AFMC) Infoway e-Health Award . The award is an initiative of the AFMC-Infoway Clinicians in Training: e-Health Curriculum and e-Learning project which aims to improve clinical practice and patient care by supporting medical school training on the effective clinical use of information and communication technologies.
  • Dr. Tara Baron , NOSM Pediatrics Residency Program Director was awarded the  Canadian Association for Medical Education (CAME) Certificate of Merit Award . This award promotes, recognizes, and rewards faculty committed to medical education in Canadian medical schools. 

"The prestigious awards at the Canadian Conference of Medical Education (CCME) not only recognize the professional achievements of the recipients, but also speak to the outstanding contributions that NOSM faculty and learners are making to the landscape of medical education across the country," says Dr. Roger Strasser, NOSM Dean. "On behalf of the Northern Ontario School of Medicine, I extend hearty congratulations to Drs. McIsaac, Ellaway, and Baron for this recognition."

Photo Caption:  Dr. Roger Strasser, Dean of the Northern Ontario School of Medicine, presents the 2014 Sandra Banner Student Award for Leadership to Dr. Sarah Mary McIsaac during the CaRMS Forum at the Canadian Conference of Medical Education in Ottawa. 

                                                                      – 30 – 

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine is committed to the education of high quality physicians and health professionals, and to international recognition as a leader in distributed, learning-centered, community-engaged education and research. 

Kimberley Larkin
Communications Officer
Phone: 705-662-7243
Email: klarkin@nosm.ca 


NOSM Facebook NOSM Twitter NOSM YouTube