About NOSM Education Research Communities

Media Release

NOSM Faculty Members Honoured by College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Each year the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (CPSO) honours members of the College who demonstrate outstanding achievement. Candidates for the CPSO's Council Award are nominated for demonstrating excellence in the categories of: Medical Expert/Clinical Decision Maker; Communicator; Collaborator; Gatekeeper/Resource Manager; Health Advocate; Learner; Scientist/Scholar; and, Person and Professional.

Recently, the CPSO released the names of the 2013 recipients of the Council Award. The Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) is thrilled to announce that two out of the four recipients this year are NOSM faculty members. It is with great pleasure that NOSM congratulates Drs. Yvon Gagnon and Paul Mulzer on their outstanding achievement.

Since the School's opening in 2005, several of NOSM's dedicated faculty members have been presented with the Council Award, which honours "Outstanding Ontario Physicians." Past recipients include:

Dr. Mark Dahmer
Dr. George Freundlich
Dr. Robert Hamilton
Dr. William McCready
Dr. Shelagh McRae
Dr. David Marsh 
Dr. Malvinda Parmar 
Dr. Janice Willett 
Dr. Diane Zielke

"It gives me great pleasure to congratulate Drs. Yvon Gagnon and Paul Mulzer as this year's College of Physicians and Surgeons Council Award recipients." expressed Dr. William McCready, Acting Dean of NOSM and Associate Dean of Faculty Affairs at NOSM. "It is exciting to see faculty members at the Northern Ontario School of Medicine recognized for excellence by the College. These faculty members are part of a vast network of Northern educators and mentors of an entire future of health-care providers," he said.

                                                                      – 30 – 

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine is committed to the education of high quality physicians and health professionals, and to international recognition as a leader in distributed, learning-centered, community-engaged education and research. 

Kimberley Larkin
Communications Officer
Phone: 705-662-7243
Email: klarkin@nosm.ca 


NOSM Facebook NOSM Twitter NOSM YouTube