About NOSM Education Research Communities

Media Release

NOSM Board Holds Face-to-Face Meeting in Sudbury

Exemplary Faculty, Preceptors and Learners Recognized at Board Dinner

The Board of Directors of the Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) held a face-to-face meeting in Sudbury on December 2 and 3, 2010.

On the first day of the two-day meeting, Board members participated in a tour of the Hôpital régional de Sudbury Regional Hospital (HRSRH), followed by a Board orientation session and a presentation by NOSM’s Interim Associate Dean of Continuing Health Professional Education, Sue Berry, on “Health Sciences and Interprofessional Education: Building on NOSM’s Partnerships.” Board members also welcomed special guest Dr. Claudia Adkison, Executive Associate Dean Emeritus and Professor of Cell Biology at Emory University School of Medicine in Atlanta, Georgia, to speak about the topic of conflict of interest, and the influence of relationships and interactions between industry funding and the professional and personal integrity of academic medicine, research, continuing education, and administrative practices.

Later that evening at the Board dinner, Awards of Excellence were presented to learner recipients Louisa Marion-Bellemare, Tiffany Parsons, Allison Sweeney, and Zachary Veitch, and faculty and faculty/preceptor recipients Dr. Yvon Gagnon, Dr. Tom Kovala, Dr. Richard Kvas and Donna Newhouse by Dr. Gerry Cooper, Associate Dean, Learner Affairs.

On the second day of the meeting, Board members were able to participate in a tour of NOSM’s Medical School Building at Laurentian University.

At the formal Board meeting following the tour, the Directors received reports from Board Committees, including the Finance and Audit, Board Executive, Quality Monitoring, Governance, Nominating, and Advancement Committees. The Directors also received reports from the School’s Academic Council, Aboriginal Reference Group, and Francophone Reference Group.

The Board of Directors approved a Financial Report from the Finance and Audit Committee for the six-month period ending October 31, 2010.

Dr. Brian Stevenson, President of Lakehead University and Chair of the Northern Ontario School of Medicine’s Board of Directors, noted that the two-day meeting accomplished several important objectives. “Group cohesion and opportunities for interactive sessions and discussions are enhanced when Board members are able to meet in person. This two-day meeting was a great success. It included a governance orientation for Board members, thought-provoking presentations, and celebration of the outstanding contribution of learners, faculty, and preceptors,” he said.

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine's next Board of Directors meeting is scheduled to occur on March 9, 2011.

For a complete list of Board members, please visit our website at www.nosm.ca.

Media Contacts:

Dr. Brian Stevenson, Chair of the Board of Directors
Northern Ontario School of Medicine
Tel. 807-343-8200

Dominic Giroux, Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors
Northern Ontario School of Medicine
Tel. 705-675-1151, Ext. 3410

Kim Daynard, Director of Communications
Northern Ontario School of Medicine
Tel. 705-662-7171 Cell 705-507-4407


                                                                      – 30 – 

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine is committed to the education of high quality physicians and health professionals, and to international recognition as a leader in distributed, learning-centered, community-engaged education and research. 

Kimberley Larkin
Communications Officer
Phone: 705-662-7243
Email: klarkin@nosm.ca 


NOSM Facebook NOSM Twitter NOSM YouTube