About NOSM Education Research Communities

Media Release

Nine New Members Appointed to NOSM Board of Directors

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) held its Annual Members and Board of Directors meetings on Wednesday, September 22, 2010. These meetings were video-linked between the School’s West Campus at Lakehead University in Thunder Bay and its East Campus at Laurentian University in Sudbury, with other Directors participating via teleconference.

The audited financial statements for the year ending April 30, 2010 were approved, and nine new members were appointed to the Board of Directors. New inductees into the Board comprised of 35 members include:

- Dr. Roy Christopher Allison
- Ms. Francine Chartrand-Dutrisac
- Dr. Roger Couture
- Dr. George A. Doig
- Ms. Rosie Mosquito
- Ms. Angela Recollet
- Ms. Carolyn Sinclair
- Dr. Todd Spencer
- Mr. Jesse Zroback

The following members were thanked for their significant contribution to the Northern Ontario School of Medicine, as their term on the Board ended:

- Dr. John Augustine
- Dr. Gratien Allaire
- Ms. Liliane Beauchamp
- Dr. Sheila Cote-Meek
- Dr. Tyler Christie
- Mr. David Harris
- Mr. Goyce Kakegamic
- Ms. Maureen Lacroix
- Ms. Elizabeth Moore
- Dr. John Whitfield

The Directors received reports from Board Committees, including the Finance and Audit, Advancement, Board Executive, and Nominating Committees. The Board also received a report from the School’s Francophone Reference Group.

A number of individuals representing various student, faculty and staff organizations attended the open portions of the meetings as observers at the Sudbury location. A spokesperson appointed by the attending group was provided with an opportunity to make a statement, and she expressed the group’s solidarity with NOSM’s striking staff members, as well as reasons why the strike should be settled quickly.

The next meeting of the Board of Directors will be held on December 2 and 3, 2010 in Sudbury.

                                                                      – 30 – 

The Northern Ontario School of Medicine is committed to the education of high quality physicians and health professionals, and to international recognition as a leader in distributed, learning-centered, community-engaged education and research. 

Kimberley Larkin
Communications Officer
Phone: 705-662-7243
Email: klarkin@nosm.ca 


NOSM Facebook NOSM Twitter NOSM YouTube